Christmas Horse Memories…


Growing up on the east coast made riding in the winter a challenge.  If you follow this blog, you have read about my pony Cherry and I getting stuck in the occasional snow bank.  The folks I worked for as a kid purchased a pair of young Clydesdales we named Chet and Steb.  They were so beautiful and gentle and looked huge in a barn full of thoroughbreds.  As the months passed I would watch Bill sack them out and long line them. I often wondered what he was going to train them to do.  All of the other horses on the property were race horses or broodmares.

It was coming up on Christmas and we had been getting quite a bit of snow. One day after I was finished doing barn chores, Bill and Mary told me to come back later that afternoon and to dress warmly.  I figured they had some holiday fun planned but I had no idea what it could be.

When I came back a few hours later, I saw something I will never forget.  There were Chet and Steb dressed in harnesses with bells, hooked up to a magnificent sleigh.  It was a little horse girls Christmas fantasy come true. The family and I climbed into the sleigh and we went on a magical ride through the snow covered corn fields behind their property.  Chet and Steb were perfectly behaved and seemed proud to be taking us on this special ride.  The harness bells were jingling in rhythm with their trot as the snow fell gently on these happy passengers.  True story…lucky girl.

May all your Christmas wishes come true!


4 comments on “Christmas Horse Memories…

  1. Jane says:

    That memory is suitable for framing. How wonderful! (Love Chet and Steb, such great names.)

Leave a Reply

